About

Animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell is internationally renowned as a source of science and soul for her insights into canine behavior—gained from her work with aggressive, fearful dogs. Now, she reveals, it wasn’t just the dogs who had serious problems.

For decades McConnell secretly grappled with her own fears, which were rooted in three harrowing traumas of her youth, including a deep shame. She is forced to face her past, and find her will to heal, by her love for a troubled young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake her to her core.

Beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, this soul-searching memoir interweaves insightful stories of McConnell’s clients’ dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will. Her inspiring story reminds us that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing is possible--for both people and dogs.

Patricia McConnell, PhD, is an internationally known Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist who has treated behavior problems in dogs for over twenty-five years. She speaks around the world about canine behavior and training, and is the author of fourteen books, including the critically acclaimed The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do around Dogs. She lives with her dogs and husband on a small farm near Madison, Wisconsin.

ORDER YOUR
COPY TODAY!
 
 
 

Events

Learn where Patricia will be next.

What Others Say

Read what others have to say about The Education of Will.

Resources

Find additional support materials and resources.